Centre for Corporate Governance Research (CCGR)

The objective of the Centre for Corporate Governance Research (CCGR) is to improve the insight into how the governance of firms influences the welfare of its stakeholders

CCGR pays special attention to the private industry in general and to non-listed firms and family firms in particular.


Øyvind Bøhren

Research and Academic Resources Department of Finance


Centre for Corporate Governance Research
Department of Finance
Switchboard: +47 464 10 000

BI Norwegian Business School
Nydalsveien 37
N-0442 OSLO

CCGR focuses on empirical research and primarily studies Norwegian firms. The projects often use data that are difficult to obtain in other countries (such as unusually detailed ownership data for listed firms and high-quality accounting data for non-listed firms) or that reflect institutional environments which are unique internationally (such as mandatory representation of employees and females on the board of directors).

The quality control devices of CCGR are a careful selection of research teams, a commitment to publishing in reputable academic journals, close interaction with the business community and regulating bodies, and a policy of disseminating the findings to the general public through the media.

The organisation

The Centre for Corporate Governance Research (CCGR) was founded in 2005. It is located at BI Norwegian Business School in Oslo, Norway.

CCGR is a virtual organization and is directed by professor Øyvind Bøhren with the personal support of William Birkeland and the administrative assistance from Eli Johanne Christensen at the Department of Finance. Ivar Otto Ekker manages the CCGR data base.The financing of CCGR comes from the business community, the Research Council of Norway, and from BI Norwegian Business School.

The CCGR Council has members appointed by BI . The Council's role is advisory. It gives feedback on the practical relevance of the research proposals, creates networks to the business community, helps targeting financing sources, and ensures that the activities of the CCGR are consistent with its mission and strategy.

The current members of the Council are Leiv Askvig (Sundt AS; chair), Morten Bergesen (Havfonn AS), Erik Mamelund (EY), Christen Furuholmen (Furuholmen Holding AS), John Giverholt (Ferd AS), Camilla Hagen Sørli (Canica AS), Eilert G. Hanoa (Real-Forvaltning AS), Christen Sveaas (Kistefos AS), and Wilhelm Wilhelmsen (Wilhelm Wilhelmsen Group).

 Affiliated department

This centre is affiliated with Department of Finance.