Practical Information

Academic Calendar

The academic year at BI Norwegian Business School is divided into two semesters: Autumn and Spring.

Autumn semester: mid-August to mid-December
Spring semester: early January to mid-June

The exact start and end dates for each semester vary slightly from year to year.

Academic calendar

AUTUMN 2018
Introduction week begins: Monday 13 August (week 33)
First day of lecture: Monday 20 August (week 34)
Last day of lecture: Friday 23 November (week 47)
Exam period from end of November to 21 December.

SPRING 2019
Introduction week begins: Monday 7 January (week 2)
First day of lecture: Monday 7 January (week 2)
Last day of lecture: Friday 26 April (week 17)
Exam period starts: Friday 27 April (week 18) 
Last day of exams: Friday 21 June (week 25)

AUTUMN 2019
Introduction week begins: Monday 12 August (week 33)
First day of lecture: Monday 19 August (week 34)
Last day of lecture: Friday 22 November (week 47)
Exam period from end of November to 20 December.

SPRING 2020
Introduction week begins: Monday 6 January (week 2) 
First day of lecture: Monday 6 January (week 2)
Last day of lecture: Friday 24 April (week 17)
Exam period from 27 April to 19 June.

Please be advised that the academic calendar is subject to change.

Public Holidays

BI Norwegian Business School is closed during the following holidays:

  • Christmas: 23 December to early January
  • Easter: Palm Sunday to Easter Monday

On the days listed below most commercial businesses are closed, no newspapers are printed and public transport services are reduced. On Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve and Easter Saturday most shops are closed from 12:00 noon.

  2018 2019
New Year's Day 1 January 1 January
Palm Sunday 25 March 14 April
Maundy Thursday 29 March 18 April
Good Friday 30 March 19 April
Easter Sunday 1 April 21 April
Easter Monday 2 April 22 April
Labour day 1 May 1 May
Ascension 10 May 30 May
Constitution Day 17 May 17 May
Whit Sunday 20 May 9 June
Whit Monday 21 May 10 June
Christmas 1. Day 25 December 25 December
Christmas 2. Day 26 December 26 December