Honorary doctorates

The BI Norwegian Business School has eight honorary doctorates.

An honorary doctorate is a doctorate awarded without the person having defended a dissertation. Most often they are given to highly prominent and foreign academics.

Honorary doctorate degrees can be given as recognition of vital life work, even though it is not within a doctoral degree.

Professor Ajay Kohli, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech

Through his research on market orientation, Ajay Kohli became one of the most acclaimed and leading professionals in marketing in the nineties. His work is also among the discipline's most cited, and he has received a number of prizes for his research. He still plays a key role in leading doctoral programmes and research programmes around the world, and has had a significant impact on many graduate students. Including at BI. Ajay Kholi is a member of BI's International Advisory Board, and is an important contributor to the marketing field at BI and the Department of Marketing and BI is very proud of his close relationship.

Professor Emeritus Charles Snow, Smeal College of Business, Penn State University

Charles Snow is one of the most significant international characters in the field of strategy. His works, which are published in top-level journals in strategy, have shaped the development of the subject, and are classics in the literature of this discipline. His recent publications in organisational design have characterised the development towards more modern and digital organisational forms. Charles Snow has a strong connection with BI, and has been an important contributor to the field of business strategy at BI.

Professor John Y. Campbell, Harvard University

John Y. Campbell is The Morton L. and Carole S. Olshan Professor of Economics at Harvard University. Campbell gave the Ely lecture to The American Economic Association in 2016 and was president of the American Finance Association in 2005. He is the Research Associate and former director of the Asset Pricing Program at the National Bureau of Economic Research, Fellow of The Econometric Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy and Honorary Fellow at Corpus Christi College, Oxford. Campbell is also the founding partner of Arrowstreet Capital, LP, a Boston-based, quantitative asset management company.

Professor W. Robert Knechel, Warrington College of Business Administration, University of Florida

Professor W. Robert Knechel is The Frederick E. Fisher Eminent Scholar in Accounting at The University of Florida, where he is also the director of the Center for International Research in Accounting and Auditing (ICRAA). He is also Visiting Research Professor of Auditing at the University of Auckland Business School and Research Professor in Auditing at KU Leuven's Faculty of Economics and Business. His primary research areas are related to topics such as insurance, auditing, control and performance measurement. His work has been published in several leading accounting journals. Professor Knechel is also a member of The Standing Advisory Group of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB, U.S.) and board member of the Foundation for Audit Research. He is deeply involved in the methodological education of young European auditing researchers through PhD courses at the Limperg Intitute in the Netherlands.

Professor Trond Petersen, Haas School of Business & Department of Sociology, University of California, Berkeley

Trond Petersen is an important contributor to international fields such as sociology, industrial relations, organisational behavior and quantitative methods. He has been a professor at Berkeley University since 1988, and was previously associated with Harvard University. Peterson has an extensive list of publications in the best journals in the world in sociology.

Professor Michael E. Porter, Harvard Business School

Michael Porter is head of the department for strategy and competitiveness at Harvard Business School. For more than three decades, his research and writings helped to design the base of modern strategy mindset.

He is known for his groundbreaking line of thought in the area of competitive strategy and international competitive advantage, and have formed a set of criteria for national competitive advantage as well as for the individual companies ' advantage in international markets. Especially famous is his Five Forces Model that is used to assess the attractiveness of an industry.

Professor Philip Kotler, S. C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University

Kotler is the author of over 60 marketing books, including Marketing Management, Principles of Marketing, Kotler on Marketing and Marketing Insights from A to Z. He describes strategic marketing as serving as "the link between society's needs and its pattern of industrial responseā€. Kotler helped create the field of social marketing that focuses on helping individuals and groups modify their behaviors toward healthier and safer living styles.

Kotler's latest work focuses on economic justice and the shortcomings of capitalism. He published Confronting Capitalism: Real Solutions for a Troubled Economic System in 2015 and Democracy in Decline: Rebuilding its Future in 2016.

Professor Michael J. Brennan, professor emeritus UCLA Anderson School of Management

Brennan co-designed the Brennan-Schwartz interest rate model and was a pioneer of real options theory. His writings on real options and asset pricing, corporate finance, derivative securities, market microstructure, the role of information in capital markets, and risk management have been published extensively.

He is a former president of the American Finance Association, and has served as editor of the Journal of Finance and was the founding editor of the Review of Financial Studies; the Michael Brennan Award is named for him.

Throughout 2018 we will appoint 7 additional people who will be honoured in different ceremonies.